The Long Awaited Bacon Bark

Hi guys and welcome back to my blog!

*sigh* Today is the day I finally accomplish what I have wanted to do since the beginning of this blog. After all this time, I have finally gotten my hands on the prized and valued ingredients (not to mention time) for this recipe. I wanted to do this recipe so bad because of the similarity between the blog name and the recipe name hehe (‘Bake and Bark’ and ‘Bacon Bark’ get it???) In all honesty, I’m very excited for this blog post and I can’t wait to share it with you! As always, I will give you the original ingredients which may or may not contain some personal changes that I will include as we continue on.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 ¼ cups of milk
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • 4 tablespoons bacon fat
  • ¼ cup bacon, crumbled
  • 2 ¾ – 3 cups Oat Flour

 

*NOTE: One of my biggest concerns (along with several other dog owners) was the use of the bacon fat in the treats, which can be harmful to dogs if they eat too much of it. But as the creator of the recipe explains it, it should create 24 treats which would leave the treats at ⅓ tablespoons per treat, which is fine for dogs. Of course everything is better in moderation right? However I do recommend only giving these treats to your fur baby on special occasions and you store them in the freezer in the meantime. 🙂

 

I don’t believe I will end up with a lot of bacon fat to work with anyways so I predict that I will only end up with 2 tablespoons.

STEP 1: PRESET THE OVEN TO 350 degrees

STEP 2: First what I did was fry up the bacon (I bought Oscar Mayer’s low sodium thin-cut bacon), when doing this I learned the hard way that bacon grease will attack you if you’re not careful and so I spent the majority of this time leaning at least a foot away from the pan.

*NOTE: I actually ended up frying 3 slices of bacon which actually gave me 2 ¾ tablespoons of bacon grease

STEP 3: After frying up the bacon I set them onto a plate lined with some paper towels     to absorb the excess oil and poured the oil from the pan into a bowl.

STEP 4: After the bacon was cool I chopped it up into tiny bits and then proceeded to dump it into the bowl along with the other ingredients and mixed it, per my usual tradition.

*NOTE: I actually used 3 ¼ cups of whole wheat flour because I found the 3 cups of flour was not enough because the dough was still rather sticky

STEP 5: After rolling the dough out I cut it into 24 pieces, but I found that I actually had a lot more dough than I previously thought so the bark looks more like a branch now (get it hehe??)

STEP 6: So, I ended up baking the treats in two different ovens simply to test the time needed, for a smaller toaster oven it took approximately 30-35 minutes per the instructions, but the larger oven (it’s part of the house) definitely took a LOT more time than 35 minutes. So of course, when you test out this recipe make sure you watch your bacon bark because every oven is different.

I had a lot of fun making this recipe and Timmy as usual had a lot of fun “helping” me clean up (more like sprawling out in the middle of the walkway and occasionally tripping me). I hope you guys try out this recipe for your dogs (or yourself hehe… I tried one… it’s not weird… shhhhh… Honestly, it just tastes like bread… with bacon in it) ALSO these treats will rise a little in the oven so also make sure you take that into account.  As always tune in again on Friday for a (maybe) another fun recipe!


​(I kind of have an excess of dog treats now, soooo if anybody wants some, leave a comment down below and I’ll try to deliver some)

Smile big,

Love Sammy

Update: So the ones in the big oven look beautiful because the heat was super even BUT it actually took almost an hour to bake them…. So there’s clearly a trade-off there…

P.S. Make sure to check out Operation Kindness as always to look for the dog of your dreams!

Leave a Reply

